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Classic Challenge Championships Q&A 2022 (Updated from 2021)

General:

Q: If a gymnast has qualified for the British Championships by previously passing compulsory 2, could they do
classic challenge this year and then do the British the following year?

A: No. If the gymnast chooses to compete in Classic challenge she will forfeit her right to enter the British
Championships and would need to requalify through the FIG Challenge.

Q: | have gymnasts that have done compulsory grades which may not continue this route! Can they enter?
A: Providing the gymnast has not taken, or does not intend to take a compulsory grade in the same year, they
can enter the Classic Challenge.

Q: How does the maximum D score work?
A: The D score includes the DV, CR & any Classic and FIG bonus’ and may not exceed the maximum score
stated.

Q: Are there any restrictions as to which level (zinc, copper, bronze etc.) can be entered? For instance, if a
gymnast has passed National Grade 4, does this mean they are not allowed to enter the zinc or copper levels?
A: The only restriction is if gymnasts have competed compulsory levels or FIG Challenge in the same year.
Gymnasts can enter classic challenge at the level that is appropriate for them providing they have not or are
not intending to compete in FIG Challenge Qualifier or enter any compulsory grade.

Q: Can 1 skill satisfy multiple CR’s?
A: An element or combination of elements can fulfil more than one CR.

Q: Is the mixed series any element? Would jumps be in that?
A: A mixed series must contain a combination of directly connected acro and dance elements.

Q: Are all dance elements that require splits no tolerance?
A: Tolerance on dance elements that require splits are as per FIG unless otherwise specified (eg zinc beam
where 160° is required, so tolerance would be 115° minimum to recognise the element)

Q: Is there an individual qualifying score that gymnasts need to achieve to attend national finals?
A: Gymnasts qualify as a regional team. The top 6 gymnasts in the regional qualifier make up the team
regardless of score.

Q: Are we using the 2022-2024 FIG Code of Points for all moves?
A: Yes, with additional uncoded elements as listed.

Q: Do all CR count as 0.5?
A: Yes.

Vault:
Q: Is there a maximum SV on vault for bronze & copper?

A: There is no maximum difficulty on vault for bronze, for copper the gymnast can perform any vault providing
it does not have a salto.
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Bars:

Q: What would be the possibility of the bars allowed at any distance — bearing in mind you’ve allowed any
height on vault?
A: FIG specifications will be maintained for Asymetric bars at the FIG & Classic Challenge.

Q: On bars, the cast CR can this come from a close bar element or only from a cast towards handstand?
A: This must come from a cast towards handstand and not from an element passing through handstand.

Q: On bars, there is a bonus for silver & gold of a double tuck dismount. If the gymnast performs a double
pike, or full in, will they also receive the bonus?
A: Whilst this is not clear on the rules, yes we would give the bonus as the dismount is still a double salto.

Q: On bars, if a gymnast does giant, giant, backaway will the giant be credited twice for DV?
A: Yes, because it states that an FIG coded element may be repeated once for DV.

Q: In silver & gold bars, will a hecht mount satisfy the CR for flighted low to high?
A: Yes providing they push off the LB

Q: In silver & gold bars, will a shoot half receive CR for a cast / circle element with 180° turn?
A: No

Q: Bronze level, does the back hip circle count as a close element? And fulfil one of the CRs?
A: A back hip circle would count as a close bar element (CR1), but the use of a back hip circle would attract
the FIG deduction of 0.5 for an empty swing.

Q: Bronze level, would a half turning upstart count as an element with a half turn?
A: Yes, the CR for an element with a half turn states that it includes a mount and dismount.

Q: In copper bonus and bronze CR on bars one of the moves is a close bar circle min B but there are no B close
bar elements only downgraded C elements that count as a B but incur huge deductions, will the new domestic
code put in these elements as a B in their own right if they exit at 45° to encourage gymnasts towards learning
the C elements?

A: Any close bar element that does not achieve the technical requirement will be credited a ‘B’, therefore any
close bar that should go to handstand but that does not reach handstand with be credited as a ‘B’ close bar
element regardless of the angle they have achieved. Deductions are taken as per FIG, or per the bars chart on
clarification page.

Q: In zinc is a fall on Bars a 1.00 deduction?
A: Yes

Q: Zinc bars — If the gymnast does a float swing to the board and follows this with an upstart, would they be
allowed to let go of the bar without deduction:
A: The gymnast will not be deducted for this, but remember only 4 skills are needed.

Q: In zing, if the gymnast casts to 45° then goes straight into a back hip circle, will they receive the bonus for
the cast and the CR for the cast and the close bar element?

A: Providing the cast is above 45° (with no tolerance) they will receive the bonus & the 2 CR’s. If the cast is
less than 45°, they will still receive the 2 CR’s.
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Beam:

Q: Do you still need to have a forward or sideways and a backwards element on beam in Classic Challenge?
A: This is not a specific requirement unless the rules give this as a CR option. The reasoning behind this being
the philosophy to enable all gymnasts to work to the best of their ability and their own strengths.

Q: What is a changement?
A: A changement is another word for a twiddle jump or beat jump. Starting with one leg in front of the other,
straight jump taking the front foot behind and then back to the front to land.

Q: Is the mixed series separate to the acro series on beam?
A: They are different CR’s. An acro series would be minimum 2 directly connected acro elements as stated in
each level, where a mixed series would be a direct connection of a minimum 1 acro & 1 dance element.

Q: On bronze beam, if a gymnast performs cat leap cartwheel tuck back dismount will they get the mixed
series bonus as the tuck back is a dismount or does it all have to be performed on the beam?
A: No, because the mixed series bonus must contained elements valued minimum BBA.

Q: Would a handstand to flic count at bronze & copper as an acro connection?
A: No because the handstand needs to be held for 2 seconds to be credited as a move and this hold would
break a connection.

Q: In copper, if a gymnast does 3/4 spin 1/4 turn is this going to be given as a % spin releve % turn?
A: No, because the gymnast will not have completed a releve % turn.

Q: In copper, will a straddle to handstand mount count as one of your acro elements?
A: If it is the highest counting acro element after your dismount, or if it one of your highest valued optional
elements then yes.

Q: In copper, it states any mount can be used, does this include a jump to front support and a squat on that
FIG don’t allow?
A: Yes, you can use any mount for copper & zinc.

Q: In copper, CR — mixed series minimum 2 connected elements. (both floor & beam). Does this need to be 1
acro & 1 dance element or can it be 2 dance elements?
A: By definition mixed means a mixture of dance and acro elements. A mixed series is a direct connection of
a minimum one dance and one acro move in any order.

Q: In zinc on beam, the cartwheel stretch jump dismount gets the dismount but does it also get the CR for
acro fwd/sideways?
A: Yes because the cartwheel has finished on the beam

Q: In zinc on beam, does a backward roll count as a backwards element for CR?
A:Yes

Q: What is the tolerance for the 160° split requirement?
A: In line with (and considering the 20° difference) FIG, the gymnast will need to achieve a split of greater
than 115° for the skill to be recognised.

Q: Is there any tolerance for the 180° split bonus?
A: To achieve the 180° split bonus, the gymnast would need to have a split greater than the 160° required for
the CR.
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Floor:

Q: What is classed as an acro move on floor as | can’t see this within the CoP?
A: In the CoP, acro elements on floor are elements beginning with 3 (hand support elements), 4 (salto
forwards & sideways) & 5 (salto backwards).

Q: What is a changement?
A: A changement is another word for a twiddle jump or beat jump. Starting with one leg in front of the other,
straight jump taking the front foot behind and then back to the front to land.

Q: Is the mixed series on Floor with acro, acro with flight or acro with salto?
A: For a mixed series, the requirement is to do an acro element that is FIG coded, or a listed uncoded element
for the appropriate level. The acro element(s) used could be salto, flighted acro or non-flighted acro.

Q: Can a mixed series use acro elements that you have used in an acro line?

A: For classic challenge at all levels, the mixed series can include an acrobatic element regardless of whether
it has been anywhere else in the routine. This means that an acrobatics series is unaffected by the mixed
series, and will also allow the mixed series to be placed anywhere in the routine to allow for diversity. Please
be aware that the DV for the acro element can only be given once, and depending on the level and the acro
element used, this could affect your dismount.

Q: In silver & gold floor, there is a bonus for a double twist or more. If the gymnast performs a double twist
backwards, and a double twist forwards or a double and a 2 % twist backwards, will they receive the bonus
twice?

A: Yes, the bonus will be credited twice, but remember that the D score is also capped.

Q: At gold, silver & bronze, if a gymnast on floor performs a round off flick tuck then does sissone round off
straddle jump for her mixed series would that mixed series count as the round off would be a repeated
element?

A: The gymnast can receive both CR’s regardless of the order these are performed within the routine. The
value for the roundoff can only be given once.

Q: At gold, silver & bronze, if a gymnast finishes their floor routine with a mixed series which includes a free
cartwheel, will it affect their dismount?
A: Their dismount will not be affected because a free cartwheel is an aerial and not a salto.

Q: At bronze, if a gymnast on floor performs tuck front, immediate tuck front for an acro line, will they get
the direct salto bonus and the CR for an acro line with 2 saltos?
A: Yes, you would be credited with both CR & Bonus, but would only receive the DV for the tuck front once.

Q: In Copper level if you do round off flick tuck for the acro line then you do round off straddle jump would
you get the mixed series as the round off is repeated? Or does the mixed series come first to get both 2 CRs?
A: The acro element can be repeated for the mixed series, but the repeated element would not receive DV.

Q: In copper, CR 360° Spin on floor. Will only a single spin satisfy this or could a double spin for example be
performed?
A: The spin needs to be a minimum of 360° to fulfil the requirement.

Q: In copper, CR — mixed series minimum 2 connected elements. (both floor & beam). Does this need to be 1
acro & 1 dance element or can it be 2 dance elements?
A: By definition mixed means a mixture of dance and acro elements. A mixed series is a direct connection of
a minimum one dance and one acro move in any order.
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Floor continued:

Q: Floor on copper is the bonus just for half twist or could this be applied to full twist as well?
A: Minimum % twist

Q: Floor copper if a gymnast does both a straight front and straight back some do the get bonus applied to
both?
A: The Bonus states straight front or straight back so will only be applied once.

Q: On copper floor if a gymnast performs a round off flick straight % twist does she get the bonus for acro line
with % twist plus the bonus for straight salto backwards?

A: No. She would also need to perform a straight back somersault without a twist to receive the bonus for a
straight back somersault.

Q: In zinc Floor does the cartwheel backward roll to straddle count as the acro line with 2 elements non-
flighted
A: Yes providing they are directly connected.

Q: Also zinc Floor is there any tolerance for the 180° split?

A: To achieve the 180° split bonus, the gymnast would need to have a split within FIG tolerance. FIG
deductions allow a tolerance of 45° (minimum 135° split) for recognition of the move and credit for the bonus.
The D panel would decide on the recognition of the element and bonus awarded, whilst the E panel would
take any execution deductions.

Q: Zinc floor, does their dismount need to be a tumble line consisting of more than 1 skill?
A: The dismount will be considered to be their last acrobatic element as the value of this will be in their
counting skills. This can be a single coded or listed uncoded acro element with or without flight.



