
 

Q & A for Compulsory Levels 2018  

 

Compulsory 4  

Beam  

 

What is the deduction if there is a series break between the split handstand and the back 

walkover/flic? Is it 1.00 (ie. VM)? 

2 elements must be connected. If not 0.5 stop in connection. (Neutral penalty from final score by 

D panel)  

 

Can the gymnast sit on the beam with bent legs before lifting to a Russian level, or do the legs 

have to be straight in the sit?  

Yes, they can sit with bent legs, but the legs must be straight at the start of the Russian lever. If 

the gymnast starts the lift with bent knees, there would be a 0.3 deduction.  

 

What is the value to be given to the backward walkover?  

The correct values should be as follows: 0.50 VM for the handstand. 0.50 VM for the Back Walk-

Over, and 1.00 VM for the flic. The grades book will also be updated to reflect this.  

 

Floor 

 

Compulsory 4 on floor can they do their split leap dance series from a chasse or does it have to 

be a step It doesn’t say cannot chasse? 

You can chasse before the first leap but the rest should be performed as prescribed in the book 

(ie step into)  

 

 

Compulsory 3 

Beam 

 

What is the penalty if a gymnast in Compulsory 3 does not do a straight legged split leap on 

beam?  

0.30 VM  - there will also be an additional deduction of 0.3 for an incorrect series (Neutral 

penalty from final score by D panel)  

 

 

Is the arabesque after the sissone in Compulsory 3 “highly recommended” like the arms, but not 

deducted?  

No the book states you have land in arabesque or VM 0.3 

The actual skill is sissone WITH an arabesque (not held) to connect - It is a sissone that shows an 

arabesque position at the end before connecting to the next element. This is not a held part of 

the skill, just something that needs to be controlled. The wording in the grades book will be 

altered to clarify this. 

 

For the split with no tolerance can you count the split jump/straddle jump before the flic to 2 or 

does it have to be the split leap or sissone as the front page for compulsory 3 beam states  ‘No 

tolerance in one of 2 leaps’?  

This can be ANY leap OR jump anywhere in the routine. 

 

 

 



If the split leap sissone and half turn jump are not connected is there just a 0.1 rhythm penalty 

each time or is there a series break penalty of 0.3 as per other grades? 

If it’s a clear break it would be a 0.3 stop in connection, a 0.1 rhythm penalty could be considered 

if it is not a clear break.  

 

If a gymnast did back walkover flic but didn’t put her feet on the beam in the flic. Obviously the 

flic was a void move (the gymnast didn’t repeat the flic to land successfully), but should there 

also be a 1.00 series break on account of the flic not being credited? 

No would be VM plus a fall  

 

Compulsory 2 

Floor  

 

Can a gymnast connect free walkover/free cartwheel into their full turning split jump? Would 

this count for both requirements or do they have to use a different dance element after the 

aerial? 

Yes, the 1/1 split, straddle or W jump can also fulfil the dance element OUT of the free walkover 

or free cartwheel.  

 

Range 

 

In Compulsory 2 range, if a gymnast does use their hand to get round into one of the splits what 

would be the deduction 

0.5 deduction for using hands (E panel deduction)  

 

Compulsory 1 

Bars 

 

If you do a blind from a close bar... will this close bar be considered one of the two close bars?  

As per the grades book, the Blind change can be performed from close bar element or backward 

giant (pg 43) It would be considered one of the two close bars as long as it is different than the 

first and consecutive. 

 
 

General 

 

During a leap series, if one or both leaps are not credited due to insufficient split, would you take a 

series break penalty? (even if the unrecognised leaps were connected) 

 No, the gymnast would lose the VM’s,and also take the E panel deductions?  

 

 

 19.03.2018 

 

Q & A for Compulsory Levels 2019  

 

Compulsory 2  

Beam 

If a Compulsory 2 gymnast does a straddle jump (connected to the change leg) in the leap series on 

beam, is she then allowed to do a sideways straddle jump as the sideways jump.  

No, it's repeating the straddle jump (reverting to FIG rules). 

The gymnast could change the straddle jump after the change leap in order to do the straddle jump 

sideways, but if not, it would have to be a different shape of minimum B value. 

 


